A day in the life

By Shelling

Perfection

Midsummer eve in Sweden has so many hopes put into it that nearly all midsummers feels like a disappointment. Everything has to be perfect, the weather of course, high temperature, good homemade food, happy children, decorated midsummer pole, dancing around it, live music, the list can be made very long. I've had midsummers celebrated in snowfall, in rain, in cloud and wind and so on when rarely more than a couple of the requirements were met. 

I was invited by to a midsummer celebration at an old friends house in the northern parts of my island. An old, well kept farm in a quiet place on the east side of the island. All items on the above list were fully met, in fact I can't remember a better midsummer ever. We started at three "dressing" the midsummer pole with leaves and flowers, the kids and parents were dancing around it and me and a couple of others played and sang. The food was home made and excellent in tastes and quantities, new friends were met and lots of interesting conversation was had. I was home, happy and sober about half past ten writing this. The main is of the hostess posing on her doorstep with one of the cakes for the coffee, the extra gives a hint of the weather.
Greeting from a memorable day, I hope your day had perfect and memorable moments too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.