HWP Day 4 - Once Brewed to Brocolitia

We hung about a bit this morning, not wanting to start too early, because we'd only got 8 miles to walk and we weren't going to be able to check in until after four o'clock. The weather didn't really look very nice for sitting admiring the views. 

We set a slow pace, stopping to check wildflower and bird IDs and taking photos. There was a lot of up and down today again, but not as much as yesterday, the land is flattening.

The wind was very strong today, not just blustery, and I was almost blown over several times today. Coming down to Sycamore Gap I didn't place my foot well enough on a down section, the wind caught me and I fell, bashing my ankle in the process. I was ok, but it'll be quite bruised.

We arrived, were shown to our room and... horror of horrors, the bed was a double instead of twins! I asked about the possibility of sleeping in the guests' lounge, but that might have been difficult as there were three other guests.

It turned out that Steve had brought his Thermarest mattress in case any of the beds were awful, so I've got it laid out in the cubbyhole in the corner of the room with two pillows, a sheet and a duvet. Sorted and I'm sure I'll be comfy, but a second email has been sent to the company who arranged our trip. The first email was sent two days ago when we discovered that tonight's accommodation did not provide food on a Sunday evening. Consequently we had to buy something in Brampton, put it into our luggage, where it's remained until this evening. There have been no proper shops since Brampton, and there are no pubs near to tonight's B&B for us to buy anything. Not good!

Main: roman arch at Sewingshields
Extra: Sycamore Gap

9.43 miles
1,398 ft elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.