HWP Day 5 - Carraw to East Wallhouses

Well, how lovely to meet Marj in person today! She arrived at our accommodation at 9am and we introduced ourselves while waiting for our partial packed lunches, ie just the sandwich component, to be ready. 

The weather was a bit mizzly, but much better than it had been earlier when I woke, and for the four miles we walked together it was a case of waterproofs on/waterproofs off. I would've worn my boots today, but I didn't think they'd do my bruised ankle bone much good so didn't. 

Marj took us on an alternative route for the last mile or so, which enabled us to visit her village and see what a lovely place she lived.

Then we fairly quickly polished off the rest of the 14 miles - which turned out to be over 15 in the end. We're at a very nice pub and are going down to dinner now.

Dinner was very good, the best we've had. We drank pints of Rivet Catcher beer - see extra - which reminded me of my first mother-in-law Violet. As far as I can remember she was a rivet catcher in the Tyne shipyards when she was young. She 'grew up' to be 5 foot nothing with a 30 Park Drive a day smoking habit, but she was a lovely woman and was like a mother to me for some years. She died on my birthday, although I forget the year.

The bulk of the walk is done, we're almost there!

15.80 miles
1,145 ft elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.