Stuck

I’ve stuck with the plan of alternating between the balcony flowers and the building site, although the building site provided us with plenty of entertainment today, starting first thing this morning with a bit of synchronised lorry driving and parking. It’s been a hive of activity and we’ve seen plenty of change during the day. The drilling and the foundations will be in quite quickly, I think. They seem to be preparing the entire site first, and then presumably they will build the separate buildings bit by bit. But it is now starting to take shape somewhat. I doubt it will in the end look much like the proposals. When I looked at the plans, I thought it would be the case that directly in front of our bedroom window there will be a road or walkway running through the middle, so our distant view of Corstorphine Hill should be preserved. We will also still be able to see Calton Hill. The Castle and the St James Centre and, most sadly, the Pentlands, will disappear. Completion is not due until 2024, so we are stuck with builders for another two years….

I had a pretty successful working day, where more problems appeared to be solved than were generated. So that counts as a significant win. Most of the Covid symptoms are gone for both of us, but I’m still a bit stuffed up. I’ll do a test and see whether I’m still positive in the morning. Most mornings I do feel a bit rubbish, but it settles down quickly during the day.

Anyway, still broadly stuck at home, but it’s not too bad and at least I can get out for walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.