Progress

...On most fronts, actually.

Mr A and I both felt better today. The flu/cold symptoms are much reduced. Neither of us is coughing anywhere near as much. And in my case, the cough has not properly taken hold as it has a tendency to do whenever I have a URT infection. Neither of us has bothered testing again yet. I'll save that until Friday. I did go out for quite a long walk, all the way to the Tesco turnoff and back round via Milk and up North Fort Street. It's about 5kms, and was completed at a good lick. Mr A had the energy to make a very nice risotto, so life is looking up a bit today.

Progress on the building site sees two piling rigs in place, complete with concrete pumps and the various concrete lorries. It's actually surprisingly quiet. There is a background hum of noise as the vehicles move around the site, but it is *nothing* like the horrific experience of the demolition when the concrete crusher and the jackhammers were in full cry, sometimes as a deadly combo. That made the entire building shake and may have been the reason why a less intrusive means of pile driving has been chosen. I mean...obviously it's going to block our view, but we've always known that this was likely to happen. And it won't block the wee view of Calton Hill that I have when I sit on my chair in the evening in the summer, like right now.

Finally, I had yet another of these interminable meetings that have been necessary to make progress on a "life project", as it were. We might be finally reaching a turning point, where we'll either be allowed to go forward or sent back again (with our tails between our legs).

Meanwhile, work was busy and contained quite a few tricky challenges. But that's what I signed up for, so I had better not complain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.