pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Captain

I find myself in quiet disbelief at having got through an insanely busy June.

The play came and went, finished some decorating of the house, the work continued on the kitchen and was eventually completed (painting still to do), had two weekends away, sorted Matty’s birthday (and kept pace with the other family birthdays in the month), got through one of the busiest and most stressful periods in my professional life unscathed – even showing some growth in my little part of the business, continued to co-parent and keep my three humans alive, and in amongst all that, somehow managed to keep the ember of a fledgling relationship smouldering – I haven’t spoken about this previously because……well, I made a complete Horlicks of the last relationship I blipped about.

It was only fitting that June finished with one last madcap dash about as I had to finish work, shove some tea down the children (takeaway Chinese to celebrate payday and the end of the month) and get m’boy to a cricket match against “Burneside; our arch rivals”.

The evening sunshine made sure that it was no hardship standing on a cricket pitch, chatting with a former colleague as my son; made captain for the match, led his team to a convincing victory over their nemesis. I was particularly impressed with m’boy’s caught and bowled wicket when after a few fast balls, he deliberately bowled slower, totally out foxing the batsman who skied his shot into the welcoming hands of m’boy.

Together with Woody (least convincing 9 year-old ever) they slogged a few around the pitch to eventually vanquish their foes.

It was a great end to the day and the perfect end to a mad month.

I’m off for a sleep now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.