Mikey88

By Mikey88

Collector

Not out very early this morning, but still earlier than I have been out for a week or so. Went down to the river and walked around the bend. The weather was dull misty - from low cloud - and the tops of the trees at the top of the valley were shrouded with mist. There was a light drizzle now and again.

There was lots of birdsong as I walked around, many of the songbirds having returned at last. A songthrush was singing as I left the car, filling the valley with its declaration, and I think I heard a grasshopper warbler, but I will wait to hear it again before I'm sure. I haven't heard one here before.

I caught this blackcap heading back to its nest having collected a piece of grass. It stayed on the branch for a minute or two, giving me the chance to get several shots. It was a bit dark and I was handholding the big lens at a relatively slow shutter speed, so I was pleased when it turned out as well as it did.

I've now got to spend the afternoon fighting with the NHS. My mother-in-law is being tested for Advanced Macular Degeneration and had an appointment for a test on Friday which she was told it was imperative she attend. She received a letter this morning saying she had cancelled the appointment (which she hadn't) and when she rang, was told the appointment had been given to someone else and the next appointment was into May.

Here we go . . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.