Blue Friday

A couple of hours spent on the plot this morning, tying in runner beans & gherkins. Picked more fruit. Yesterdays haul, 13lb goosegobs, 6.5lb blackcurrants, all processed, & frozen. I topped n tailed the goosegobs while watching the Nadal match. Back to today's bounty. More blackcurrants, redcurrants, & gooseberries, plus some more potatoes, oh! & rhubarb. You can never have too much rhubarb in your life :-) Lifted the row of beetroot, small but edible. Not having much with root veggies this year, carrot tops have all been munched by snail/slugs. C'est la vie!
Up to the shop for the newspaper, popped into doctor's surgery to see if i could speak to a nurse about the bruising on hubby's body since his op. He had an afternoon apt with the nurse. Relief! For me at least. He's being a nightmare!!
Back home, early lunch, crunchy peanut butter on toast, as I'm gardening this afternoon. George & Jean's patch at Bovey Tracey. I took them some goodies, potatoes, beetroot, rhubar from my patch, & 5 very freshly laid eggs from a plot neighbour,  plus 3 plants from my sale. Jean had given me £10 for the charity, & I told her at the time that I would bring her some plants next visit.  When i arrived George, 92years of age, very, & I mean VERY, poor eyesight, is using an electric hedgetrimmer on the boundary hedge. Jean asked me to take over immediately before any accidents. Phew! Hes an absolute nightmare. Really strange. Ever since he's had a "walker" delivered from Help The Aged he's been manic. Poor Jean looked worn out. He's really upsetting her. Jean is 90. I did 4 hours gardening. Hedge trimming, lawn cutting, general garden maintenance. The "aim" is to fill the green bin (garden waste collected by the local authority once a fortnight). I filled it! While I was working, a realtive of a neighbour came over and asked if I had any gardening slots available to garden for her elderly father in Teignmouth. The second person to ask if I could garden for them. If only I did'nt have other commitments I could have got myself some more work.
Back home, watched some more tennis from Wimbledon then it was time to make dinner. I've got a very tender painful left side. Not sure what I've done. Hopefully it will go.
Hubby saw the nurse, changed the wound dressing, explained the cause of bruising, putting his mind at ease, another wound check next Tuesday morning.
Some of the plants in the back garden for today's blip. When we arrived it was an empty canvass waiting for plants & colour. I'm getting there.

Sorry I've not replied to comments. It's been a bit full on here.

Thanks to BikerBear/ Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.