Purslane

Party day. Well, not exactly all day. The folks who bring fireworks to set off near my sister’s beach decided to do it tonight. We’ll celebrate July 4th a day early. I started my jobs before it got too hot outside. Most of the blueberries are ripe. I picked about a quart off one vine (and then spilled them). The largest bed in my fenced garden hasn’t been mulched so there are weeds trying to take over. Pulled many and will make cleaning and mulching it a priority for next week. This tiny delicate flower is also called portulaca. The varieties differ in the shape of the “leaves.” I grow both in hanging baskets but this is the first year I’ve had a multilayered bloom. Sure hope I can find it again next year as the color and texture of the flowers are stunning. One variety wintered over from last summer but it has not bloomed yet even though I used blooming fertilizer. I finally packaged the meat into meal size portions for freezing. My sister is providing the BBQ for tonight’s picnic so I made slaw to accompany it. Hubby went to the store and bought ice cream to go with our All American apple pie. That pie is huge!! I actually sat in the gazebo, enjoying a nice breeze after lunch. Was going to read but a friend called to chat. Two men tried to break into her home last night. Thankfully, they have surveillance cameras. Sure hope the police catch the thugs. My youngest daughter lives near my friend. There were a few other inside jobs to complete before heading out. We got less than four sleep last night so we took a short nap before leaving. I promised Jamie I’d water his flowers. Better do that on the way. Enjoy your weekend folks but be safe. I read our Ukrainian blipper’s journal earlier today. It is heartbreaking. He may be called up to the front lines. Prayers for Ukraine every day. Thanks for the hearts, stars and sweet comments for my butterfly. Means a lot. “To find happiness, it is not quite a difficult thing. It is just enough to distinguish the blue of the sky from the pink of peach flowers which are opening out.” - Che Lan Vien

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.