Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another windy day

Mum is gradually recovering from the fall. I removed the dressing from her elbow this morning to inspect the damage. Thankfully the wound is clean, but it will take time to heal from below.

This afternoon I was at the dentist for my regular appointment with the hygienist. My dentist has sold the practice to someone else and there was a peculiar, empty feel to the place. The hygienist is leaving too. Time for me to move on I think.

I filled my diesel tank and again avoided going over the £100 mark. It's coming soon.

On my way home, I stopped by the meadow beside Heavenfield. The flowers are nearly all finished. I wanted to catch the effect of the strong wind, but none of my images satisfied me. When I processed this one, I tried different effects using the colour lookup. I settled for this slightly surreal one.

The rest of the day was dominated by tennis.

Now, some musings on cooking:
Many years ago I made quiches without blinking an eye. I made my own pastry and fillings. Yesterday I made a tasty mushroom and caramelised onion quiche, but it was a big soggy.

More research was required. Today I used a metal flan tin on a metal tray. Success - no soggy bottom in a traditional quiche lorraine. I had mushroom mixture left over and used it. It is much too soggy for any pastry to withstand..............perhaps!

More practice required. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.