Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Ornamental bramble

It's been one of those days.

This morning was fine, although I woke from a deep sleep and a nightmare that was still real. I was playing a flute solo in front of an orchestra and had left my music in the practice room. The concert was held up while I went to find it. Then the conductor gave vague arm gesticulations and wondered why I did not play in response. It got worse, but I woke up and had little idea where the dream came from.

Mum had a shower and later a hair wash, cut and set. Phew.

We expected a phone consultation with her ophthalmologist at 2pm. He did not phone and we waited all afternoon. I did watch tennis, phone by my side, but I could not go out.

At 4.45pm I phoned the department; he was emailed and phoned straight away. No apology or comment. He is sending more drops for Mum to try in her painful right eye.

I watched the Djokovic match and hoped he would be knocked out. His experience and expertise prevailed. Then we watched Cameron Norrie. I thought that Gibbon was the better player, but they were very equally matched and Norrie won through to the semis.

In the midst of all this excitement, the news broke that Sajid Javid and Rishi Sunak had resigned. Why they did not do this weeks ago is beyond me. It took a drunken, groping MP to tip the balance. 

I have been saying for ages that the issue was lying and this was much more serious even than the events that were lied about. Oh well, better late than never.

I'm not holding my breath for Boris Johnson resigning.

My blip is a close up of the ornamental brambles growing on our north facing wall. The leaves are yellow and the stems and branches are white (with many thorns). No fruit is borne, but the flowers are unusual, especially when the petals have fallen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.