Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

More babies

Actually, after yesterday, this should probably be called 'more images of questionable quality', but the sparrowhawks' nest this year is very high up, smothered with willow foliage, distant and unreachable on the other side of the river.  And a very good thing too!

I got to the reserve super early, before anyone was about, really hoping for more deer pics, but I did catch sight of the female sparrowhawk, who I've only seen infrequently since the hoard of photographers decended as they were nest building.  Then, as I was trying to work out what was going on in the nest, one of the three local birders I've got to know came along on the same mission.

(I needed my long lens.  Wouldn't have seen a thing otherwise.  A teleconverter would have been nice too - grr!)

Apparently there are three chicks, though I only saw two.  Once they start leaving the nest a bit more I will try to get slightly better shots, but I couldn't resist having this set in my journal.  In the top right pic the chick is on the right with mum feeding it on the left; bottom right is also one of the chicks if you can just about make it out.  It really has been the high point of my day, super thrilling, especially after the failure of last year's brood.

So that's me.  Hope your Tuesday's been a good one  xx

PS: obviously you see more in Large, if you're interested..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.