pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Doughnot

Even though Manic Monday is not as manic as it once was, it was still a pretty late night for the children and they were a little slow to come to this morning.

They needed perking up though as today was sports day. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to make it and had to be President Business for a large part of the day, but their mum was able to get along and see M’boy pick up a third place rosette in the egg and spoon race. The Youngest seemed to be calling for a steward’s enquiry when I picked them up earlier as she’d felt cheated out of a “reward”, but I am yet to get to the bottom of this.

I’d had half an eye on the Cam Norrie match at Wimbledon for the latter part of the afternoon, so once we’d demolished these burgers (pictured) and curly fries (not pictured), we crashed out and cheered him on to victory in the five set thriller. I can’t see him getting past No-vax, but he’s done well just to get to the semi-finals.

Earlier in the day I had been in the office. Following a previous trip to covid-central where I had been lambasted for failing to bring doughnuts, today I arrived armed with no less than 24 doughnuts (24!) to share about and guess what? I couldn’t give the things away! There seemed to be an air of suspicion that I had brought sugary treats for no apparent reason (they were actually a small thank you to some who had helped out on the big project over the last couple of weeks) and another said that it reminded him of Dexter bringing in doughnuts. That’s my colleagues, people: suspicious of random acts of kindness and likely to liken you to a fictional serial killer as a result.

There shall be doughnuts no more.

And I best move the bodies…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.