An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A little bit of whimsy...

Was what I needed after my MRI.

Thankfully it was not quite as painful (but still painful) or as long as my previous MRI in March and the team organising the scan were just as wonderful.  Listened intently as I explained how, due to my arthritis, it's impossible for me to lie flat on a hard surface, they produced pillows and wedges and pushed them into position under my back and knees and head till we found a bearable position.

They were concerned that my legs and head were elevated so much that I wouldn't get under the scanner but I made it.  My nose was about 3mm from the top of the machine but I kept my eyes closed to avoid that claustrophobic feeling.  

I have chosen to listen to music that last two times I've been scanned and both times the music didn't materialise.  I pleaded with them to make sure it played this time as I felt sure it would help distract me and make the time go faster.  This time I chose Robbie Williams and as the cage contraption was strapped over my pelvis with my hands trapped under it and the table inched its way into the scanner, my headphones crackled for a second then Robbie's cheery vocals  infiltrated my ears....I HOPE I'M OLD BEFORE I DIE!  Great start!!! hahahahahaha!

Now fully in the machine, the loud banging started along with the weird whooping noises and Robbie was completely drowned out!  So much for that plan!  

In the end I had three four and a half minute scans and a two and a half minute scan but of course I'd been under there much longer as there are gaps between the scans while they are checked to make sure they are of good enough quality. I think they would have done another scan but by that point I was boiling hot (the scanner generates a lot of heat!) my mouth was completely dry (they injected me with buscopan to slow my digestive system down to ensure the scans were as clear as possible and a side effect of that is a very dry mouth) so I could hardly breathe and I felt as though my back was about to go into a spasm, so they decided to leave it there.  Thank goodness!  

I really hope that's the last MRI I need to have but I suspect my Gynae consultant will request another in 3-6 months to check Florence the Fibroid again!! 

When I got home I went to the studio to finish painting my little whimsical flowers (some of my process in extras but not many as I forgot to take pics!) Losing myself in watercolour, polychromos pencils and gold paint was just what I needed.  And of course some Kate :-)

Had a conversation with Nikki early evening as she's asked me to crochet a throw for her bed.  She's chosen the yarn and sent me two patterns she likes.  One in the coffee bean stitch I used for little Jack's gifts, and another, more complicated stitch that I think is currently beyond me.   

I find it impossible to make any sense of a written crochet pattern but happily follow a You Tube tutorial so I will see if I can find the second pattern on there and have a go.  I've told her my crochet time is severely limited at the moment so not to expect it to be finished anytime soon.  I've already decided it will be part of her Christmas but not told her that yet!  :-)))

Today would have been my grandpa's birthday.  I've been without him in my life way longer than I had him in it (he passed away six weeks after giving me away at my wedding) yet I can still see his smile and hear his voice as clearly as if the last time I saw him was yesterday.   

Memories of him pop into my head almost every day and this afternoon as I considered adding a little cottage in the background of my painting, I was transported back to sitting beside him as he drew little houses for me to copy on pages sneaked from my gran's Basildon Bond writing pad (she was prolific letter writer)   Oh how I reminder those little houses in blue biro with a tree and flowers in the garden and some hills in the background.  A typical little house that we all learn to draw in childhood, with four windows and a door in the middle :-)  The memory made me smile then wonder if drawing / painting was something he had been interested in as a youngster  but left behind, resigned to his life as a coal miner.  I never thought to ask him as I grew up and oh how I wish I had.  

I could dwell on the many things I wish I'd discussed with him but that is a pretty pointless way to spend time with him now.  Instead I remember the conversations we did have and all the laughter he brought to my life.  Truly a man in a million.  Thank you Grandpa.  Now will you take a pie till the tarts are ready? * HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!  

*one of his jokes that would take too long to explain and then not be funny. You had to be there :D 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.