Sands of Breckon Beach

We decided to take a trip to Yell today. Yell is one of the north Isles. It's not the first time I've been but it is the first time I've had a proper look around. We went to two beautiful sandy beaches, firstly West Sandwick and secondly Sands of Breckon. This is the latter, a lovely sheltered bay right at the north end of Yell with views over to Unst, another of the north isles. It has the largest area of dune grassland in Shetland and the extra shows how you get down the dunes to the beach. You can see in the main that this is a farming area. We had to walk through the field of cows but they were placid.

I've seen more dead gannets today but happily some flying and diving too. Also, from the ferry, a bonxie (great skua). They're far from my favourite bird, in fact I'm really wary of them, but they've also been hard hit by avian flu which isn't good.

The weather was an improvement on yesterday. Still not that warm, except in the most sheltered bits, but mainly dry. I'm tired now as I've been awake since 04:00 listening to the radio and digesting political developments. He's gone, but he hasn't really. Not yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.