ZZZZZzzzzzz........

Workin' the night shift must be exhausting! Especially on Garbage Night..which was last night!.

I was sitting out on the deck early this morning watching the birds and happened to glance up into the huge black walnut tree along my back fence - the woodpecker often hangs out up there .. but not today - the prime spot was occupied....by this little masked bandit..sleeping off a night of mischief! 

I was mesmerized..I watched that little guy for ages..went out several times during the day to see if he was still there..and he was..He did a fair amount of shuffling around to get comfortable but never once lost his balance..never once came close to falling out of the tree!  Such a clever little devil....and so cute...until he finds the garbage can! 

What a wonderful day I had today - a day that made me smile...and I credit my friends (and a raccoon) for making it so. (see extras) 

My good friend P called this morning to say she was going grocery shopping for herself and for her elderly neighbour who had been injured and could not get out to shop..and offered to pick up some groceries for me too..Perfect...She showed up not only with the groceries but with treats to go with our morning coffee and  - surprise - a flat of lovely bedding plants which she proceeded to plant in a pot for me to have on my deck! Say what? How fabulous was that?  A friend who doesn't wait to be asked and who knows how to perk up your day!

While P was potting the flowers out back, E, my neighbour and now gardener, was out front weeding, trimming trees, planting that potentilla shrub he purchased and edging the garden bed! He has already started planning changes he would like to make in the back garden... hydrangeas are first on his list to plant and will be arriving soon!  It is so good to have someone who knows how to take charge when needed; he is certainly making my life easier! 

Later, my day was topped off with a fun phone call from N, a friend who has been through hell health-wise, but who remains upbeat and enthusiastic.. nothing seems to get her down...We nattered on for about an hour or so about the absurdities of life as we know it these days.. surgeries, hospitals, the indignities of illness and ageing...nothing was too embarrassing to share....and oh, it was so good to laugh at ourselves...humour goes a long way, nest-ce pas? A friend who has been there and who understands is a good friend indeed...

So, today I seemed to be surrounded by good friends and neighbours.. and what a difference that made.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.