Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Under Construction

Nest building was going on in earnest this morning in the garden bluebird box with Mama shuttling big loads of dried grass in while being heavily guarded by Papa.  I will have to take a peek in the box later to see how much progress has been made.  No signs of the four youngsters but I am still holding out hope that they will be around to help with feeding once this brood hatches. 

And speaking of hatchlings...Hubs came inside and got me while I was making dinner last night, saying he was taking over because I needed to undertake a rescue.  One of the baby House Wrens had somehow tumbled out of the box in the front garden and was sitting very still on the ground under the box, trying not to look like food.  It appeared to be fine and let me quickly scoop it up and guide it back into the box.  Such a tiny little thing! I lurked around to be sure Mama Wren was still feeding - she was.  She scolded me loudly and went about her business.

I had a quick paddle this morning which I enjoyed very much.  And then a quick FT with my parent that I enjoyed even more.  Mom is having a rebound of Covid, unfortunately and is feeling tired and blah. But she's already had another virtual visit with the doctor who advises rest and patience unless symptoms worsen.  

I took Jax to the vet this afternoon for the incessant sneezing.  I was worried he might have something lodged in his nose but the vet confirmed that he just has allergies.  There are steroids that can be used to manage symptoms, but she didn't feel the gain would be worth the risk and I wholeheartedly agree.  So we will just know that he will be sneezy sometimes.  He was really good at the vet's office, showing off all his Canine Good Citizen behavior, even with the dog in the waiting room.a

And speaking of Jax, when Hubs just took him out for a pee break, they started a young bear in the back yard.  It would probably be more appropriate to say the bear startled them - Jax started barking like a crazy dog and Hubs had to drag him in.  Then back outside with the airhorn to ensure the bear retreated all the way into the woods. I dread fall when all the bears will be desperately trying to pack on weight for winter.  

Heading into another weekend.  Hoping to get out on the water again if time permits as well as doing a little gardening.  Hopefully without any bears in attendance.

Dark with almonds today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.