Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

It's a boy!

Several weeks ago, I found a beautiful black swallowtail caterpillar in my garden (Click HERE).  I put it in a predator proof container with lots of dill and let it complete its transformation to chrysalid.  I wasn't expecting to see it emerge quite this soon, but here it is in all its perfection.  I hope he will find a suitable female nearby and that perhaps my dill and parsley will host caterpillars.  

Jax was an excellent watchdog as I pottered around in the garden this morning (he safely contained on the deck with good views in all directions).  In honesty, I feel a lot better with him out there as I would prefer to know if a bear is approaching.  While I pottered, Hubs took a bike ride.

We loaded Jax into the car and drove about 30 minutes to a locally owned garden center, looking for some replacement shrubs for the front of the house.  Jax was extremely well behaved , even when the owner's dog wandered over. I was so proud of him!   We left with the back of the car full of shrubs and one brindle dog and headed to Starbucks for beverages and a pup-cup.

Back home where more work in the garden ensued, although with very little to show for it.  Mostly I was distracted by birds, bugs and the dog.   I hadn't seen the bluebirds all day, but Papa showed up this afternoon to sing and chase off a few birds that he evidently didn't like the looks of.  

Dark with ginger today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.