Dinosaur day ( and a kangaroo )

We had booked a bus trip to see some dinosaur attractions today but I hadn’t told them where to pick us up as I hadn’t booked accommodation at that stage of the trip. I was getting somewhat nervous after our experience missing the tour in Darwin so asked the local park manager, and he gave me their phone number. We had no phone reception so I thought they might be trying to ring me. We raced into the tourist information centre yesterday afternoon just before they closed and I walked in with the tour guide who was taking the tour today….. what luck. 

So low and behold they arrived this morning and off we went to a mystery tour. I couldn’t quite work out where we were going because the dinosaur place in Winton was actually 115km out of town on a very rough road. It is called the Dinosaur Stampede National Monument not the Australian Age of Dinosaurs Museum 24km out the town of Winton. We also went off track to take in the views from the top of the mesas (called “jump ups” here). We had morning tea ( note the seats - old drums) lunch and afternoon tea on the way. 

The main attraction was a facility built to protect the only known evidence of a dinosaur stampede 95 million years ago. There are 3300 footprints from at least 150 dinosaurs. Amazing! We enjoyed the day but it wasn’t the best for my back and I was happy to get back. We decided to stay another night/ day and have booked for the other place where we thought we were going today. It only had a couple of time slots left so Bob is doing the 10am tour and I am booked for the 10.30 tour. 

You never know what you are going to learn on a day like today.  The guide was very knowledgeable. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.