a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Hovering

Today started with another early morning down on the Somerset Levels.  Given the temperatures that are expected this afternoon, I thought I'd get the wildlife watching done first thing as I expect to doze through much of the heat this afternoon, while Cathy enjoys the Wimbledon men's tennis singles final on the TV.  

I'm 99% sure that the main is a Willow warbler (its not that obvious in this contra-jour shot, but later shots in the sequence make the ID more certain).  The pale legs and whiteish eye ring on the bird in the extra clearly mark it out as a Marsh warbler - it looks as though it has just caught a damselfly to feed to its fledgling.

I finally saw my first bearded tit today, but there were lots of reeds in the way and the only shots that I could manage aren't worth showing.  Still, while I don't have the photographic evidence it was really lovely to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.