Our monthly Sunday climb, although obviously other climbing happens as and when, and we went to Dovedale at Dave's request, parking at Milldale. I've only climbed there once before, not long after I started climbing, Campanile Pinnacle with an abseil down over the mouth of a cave - I think I was lowered as I wouldn't have known what to do. Bottom right photo of the cave.

We struggled up the path to the Tissington Spires area, and I do mean struggled, as it was loose scree edged with nettles and brambles but thankfully there were also tree roots and branches to aid our progress upwards, but it was exhausting work.

Andy and Doris (Siu Foon) were going to climb a VS, Dave picked an HS - top left - and would be followed by Jason and Sam. Fi, Rich and I decided to search out a lonely VDiff nearby as that's all we're capable of leading. It took a while - top right pic - and a lot of effort, and when found it was very overgrown and not worth bothering with. Never mind. 

Rather than slip and slide down the scree path we decided it was better to loop a rope around a tree and abseil - bottom left photo. It took two rope lengths and a bit to reach the riverside path. 

After a drink and lunch we were sufficiently recovered for Fi to say that she was going to climb Campanile. OK so off we go up another scree/bramble path, although nowhere near as long as the first one, only to discover that Fi hadn't got her rockshoes in her bag........ she was devastated and apologised. But we'd still got to get down so another couple of abseils followed. Honestly! You don't do any for ages and then have to do five in one day. I don't like abseiling, even down a scree path, but it's good practice and at the bottom, by the river, we found the two members who'd done a walk.

We had to wait a while for everyone else to finish but we had a good chat, thankfully in the shade and it was nice to catch up. Then a hot walk back to the carpark. Most of them went to the pub in Fenny Bentley but I came home and jumped straight in the shower, I was filthy, and anyway I've got to finish my packing and use up the final bits of food ready for tomorrow. 

My hydrangea in the front garden, see extra, seems to be suffering in the dry. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.