Runner beans to be

My runner beans are the stars of my wee vegetable plot. Here's hoping that the flower blipped will be replaced with a pod before too long. I am also growing kale and potatoes. I'm not sure when to harvest the latter. I think probably sooner rather than later since the plants have grown very tall.

There is a part 2 to the story of Nick's visit yesterday. Not long after I blipped the photograph of him on our steps, he called us from the airport to tell us that his flight to Birmingham had been cancelled. About an hour later we met him off the tram at St Andrew Square to bring him back to our house for the night. This walk will be memorable for the two seagulls that attempted to attack us en route. We think that they took a dislike to Mr hazelh's orange/red T shirt. It's funny now, but it was actually quite frightening each time the seagulls swooped down on us, squawking madly.

Nick caught the 06:52 train to Euston this morning so that he could alight at Birmingham International and pick up his car from Birmingham airport car park. I started my day by walking him up to Waverley to see him off.

The rest of the day I have been running around on various other tasks with trips to the dentist (to check my appointment time next week), the pharmacy, the post office, four Leith Walk charity shops (I'm looking for a long white linen shirt to wear over my navy and white striped jersey shorts, as featured in my Pippi Longstocking outfit on March 19th 2022), the library, and the Co-op. I also wrote a blog post (with two blippers name-checked), tried to work out whether I will be able to get through The name of the rose by next Monday's book group meeting, cooked an aubergine bake for dinner tomorrow night, dug my vegetable garden, chatted to one of our neighbours, watered the plants, rang Mummy hazelh - and so on... Meanwhile Mr hazelh supervised a BT engineer who came to investigate our recent Internet drop-outs, and made contact with our electrician so that he can come and look at the work that needs to be done alongside the damp-proofing and new bathroom installation. It's all go chez hazelh at the moment!

Exercise today: walking (17,560 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.