A day in the life

By Shelling

The King

We've had one of those rare summerdays today, that we keep dreaming about during the worst days of winter. Sunny, still, warm but not too warm, just peaceful. How do you "seize the day", what do you DO with it? Well, nothing in particular apart from being aware that this is one of the few days, just be with it. I tried to become a kind of sponge, taking it all in, enjoying it as much as I could. There was a longish walk through fields and groves, sitting in the still of the evening till nine thirty, when I got inside to watch "Vera" my favourite copper, now doing her eleventh season. Some of the episodes are quite brilliant, dealing with ordinary people making bad choices.
The King-mill has had a new roof of wood tiles. I saw posters about it during spring when the mill-society were raising money for the job. I contributed a little, sending some money. Here it is, the glory of a rain proof roof for another 75 years at least. This is the largest of the three mills, and also the largest of its kind in the whole of Scandinavia. The King, Queen and Prince, all in a row, close to where I live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.