Gatekeeper

Today has been a much cooler day, and a much more relaxed one too. We did very little this morning really, I had a mail sort out and went to the Post Office and Bri just chilled.

At lunch-time we decided to go to Hartsholme Park, have sausage baps for lunch and then have a walk around to get Blips. It remained cloudy and much cooler while we were eating but when we walked to the butterfly and (potentially but not today!) lizard area the sun put in an appearance for a while.

When we went to Snakeholme Pit yesterday there were lots of these Meadow Brown butterflies. I love them, they are so pretty with the little "buttons" on their wings! I tried in vain to photograph one but they were just too active. This shot was the best of today's attempts to capture one. It is is not fantastic - the straw and grass are really annoying! But I was so happy to get a shot of one finally that I am Blipping it!*

There were lots of Ringlet butterflies too, and a pretty insect that Bri may have got a shot of. The insect in question looked like a large fly with bright green eyes and dark grey and white banded wings. They bite too! One bit me and I let it as it was so fascinating. It was drinking my blood I think. It felt sharp and drew a little blood at the time but does not hurt now. When it went back for seconds I got Bri to send it on its way!**

* Turns out, I'm an idiot!! I actually did photograph a Meadow Brown yesterday and it is in the extras. Today's butterfly is actually a Gatekeeper and all the required editing has now been done!

** The  fly that bit me, as photographed by Brian has been added as an extra. Does anyone know what it is please?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.