Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Testing 1, 2, 3

I decided to rent a Nikon mirrorless camera for a week just to see what all it would do and how it would compare to my DSLR bodies.  It arrived before noon so I immediately put the macro lens on it and headed out to the garden (with Jax keeping watch for bears from the deck.). There is definitely a bit of a learning curve, even though I've been shooting Nikon for years.  So a few trips inside to watch a tutorial or two, then back out.  

I think this particular flower longhorn beetle may be a yard first for me.  It looks very similar to another common, somewhat larger species but when I saw them both together on the same flower the differences became evident.  This species (Yellow-horned Flower Longhorn Beetle) is very fragile looking especially in flight.  Anyway it is my pick for today and didn't require any adjustments other than a crop and a slight tweak to exposure.  

Tomorrow I hope to get some hummer shots using my 300 lens on this body.  

I had a CT scan this afternoon which was uneventful other than that strange warm feeling you get when they inject the contrast.  Along with the warm feeling is the overwhelming sensation that you have lost control of your bladder - very unsettling unless you know what's happening, which I did.  Should get results in my portal tonight or tomorrow.  

Some sad news from the Bluebird nest box...I went to check today, expecting to find a nice clutch of 4 eggs.  Instead I found a totally empty nest - the two eggs that were there a few days ago were gone.  The nest did not appear disturbed and I have a predator guard on the pole so I am not quite sure what happened.  My only guess is that a squirrel may have managed to jump up there somehow, reached in and got the eggs.  In any event, both adults have left so that is the end of my bluebirds for this season.  I hope they find a good spot and try again.

In better news, mom and dad felt good enough to get out for a mile walk today - the first since they were both first diagnosed with covid.  I know it felt good for both of them to be outside doing something normal after several weeks of staying isolated.  

Tomorrow I have a routine visit with my oncologist and then a private training session for Jax with our trainer.  Then some camera time!  

Mom and dad sent some Ethel M dark chocolate so that's what I am having today - 62% dark from Indonesia.  Yum.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.