Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Golden Girl

Some of you may remember from prior years that I have a congregation of Great Golden Digger Wasps who nest in the gravel of our brick walkway.  This happens every year to Hubs' eternal horror and my equal delight.  The Diggers are huge, with some females surpassing 1.5 inches in length.  That said, they are so docile that you'd have to work hard to get one to sting you.  This year, for some reason, the number that emerged from the nests was way down.  I suspect some were lost to another species of wasp that parasitizes the digger's prey.  Still, there are probably 10 or so working on next year's colony.  In between hunting down katydids (which is where they place one egg) they only feed on nectar and seem to have a particular liking for milkweed and mountain mint, both of which are plentiful here in my garden.  

Took this with the mirrorless Z6ii and my 300 prime lens.  I think it would have been sharper using the same lens on my d850, but that could be either a function of the camera or (more likely) a function of the photographer.  Despite some moments of frustration, I am enjoying using new gear and learning how to make it work for me.  Five more days.

I had an appointment with my oncologist (routine quarterly) that quickly turned into more tests.  She was very concerned about my weight loss and had seen the results of the CT scan I had done this week that showed some irregularities in my lower abdomen.  The radiologist who interpreted the scan suggested an MRI and my oncologist was in total agreement and sent the order in on the spot.  She's also ordered another chest CT and a "tumor marker" blood panel.  Which all sounds scary but probably won't amount to much.  I went for the blood work today and have an appointment at the hospital next Friday morning for both scans.  I'm really feeling fine other than appetite.  Anyway, it will probably all amount to nothing.

Jax had a short training session with our trainer today - we met at the local park and worked on his leash skills and how he greets other people and dogs.  Because it was so hot, we only saw two other dogs, but in both cases, Jax was calm and willing to sit rather than flying around at the end of the leash trying to greet them.  We even passed some little kids and he was willing to sit for that as well (he loves kids).  All in all, it was a good session and I do feel that he is getting much better overall.  Amanda, our trainer, was also really pleased with his manners today.  

Haven't made the dark decision yet but it will be something from the box of Ether M dark chocolates that my parents sent.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.