Day 5 Tour of the Lakes

We caught the first bus from Borrowdale yha to Gatesgarth and set off up Fleetwith Pike. I gave up before I got to the top - yes, yes, I know, I should've persevered but what is the point if you're not enjoying it! The others continued to the top and then over Haystacks. I simply went down, had a cuppa at the kiosk by the bridge and walked round Buttermere to the yha.

The door was open so I went in, had a shower, washed my dirties and hung them in the drying room, and then read magazines and drank tea. I couldn't get into our room because I wasn't the lead booker.

I later got a message that they were in the pub, so walked down to join them for a beer and a meal.

I'm not a fell walker and in fact only started coming here about six years ago. Everything I've walked in the Lake District has been because it hasn't been fit for climbing, not because we particularly wanted to walk. The rest of the group are committed, and two of them are on their second round of Wainwright's!

Thankfully I slept much better... not difficult because it's been poor up to now, with noisy bunks, mattresses on the floor to avoid top bunks, snoring.... !

4.35 miles
1,362 feet elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.