Hoverfly

The day is warming up and, as it does, out come the winged insects. I've been following numerous bees, flies and hovers with my camera. This is the clearest shot of the hoverfly's pretty wings.

For anyone interested in the blackbird chick from yesterday it was in the same spot this morning and still being fed by the mother bird. Later it was hopping about the garden and the mother was swooping frantically round it. It scurried off into the undergrowth. I think it can't fly but the adult bird is still protecting it. Who knows what its chances are. Probably not great if it's still on the ground.

I should have been watching the sun set over the Isle of Skye tonight. That's not happening though luckily I've been able to move the accommodation booking on. Instead a week at home, with a limited agenda, is on the cards. I think it's what's needed so I'm fortunate it's turned out that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.