pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Face Melter

I quite like a pleasant Sunday evening.

It has become a little routine of mine that regardless of what I have done on a weekend without the children, as the weekend draws to a close, I will go for a little walk through town and up and around Kendal Castle. It doesn’t take long and it is usually pretty quiet, but it does give me the time and space to reflect on the weekend’s activities and also mentally prepare myself for Monday morning and the week ahead.

Take this week for example, my muggy walk has enabled me to prepare for the fact that – if I have understood the news correctly – over the next couple of days, the minute we step outside, we will immediately burst into flames and our faces will melt like Major Toht at the end of Raiders of the Lost Ark.

Unsurprisingly, my preparations were outweighed by my reflections on the weekend and brought me more pleasure as I’ve spent a large portion of it with a new member of the cast in The DunkyC Show (filmed in front of largely disinterested audience), let’s call her LadyV. Today, she brought me breakfast in bed, let me lie-in, showed me the wonders of Lancaster Aldi (smaller but better apparently) and a frenetic Morecambe Home Bargains before taking me down to the shoreline of Costa Del Heysham, throwing me into the water and showing me how to paddleboard. 

I’ve never done it before, and thought I would be useless as balancing is not my strong suit, but I was in good hands and was soon able to stand up and paddle about a bit - it was great fun! I did take a couple of dips, but I can’t say I was too bothered because it was so hot and well, bloody nice to be swimming in the sea – as an aside, I also found out that my phone is partially waterproof, which came as quite a relief. 

With the sun still beating down, we relaxed on the slipway for a little while after to dry off and take in the scene, feeling particularly grateful to the older gentleman who stripped down to his bright orange underpants right in front of us before going for a dip. I admired his confidence and nothing else.  It was so nice to see so many people making the most of the glorious weather. We soon headed back to LadyV’s for ice cream and good byes before I returned home to watch Rory miss out on another major.

The car ride back was a little fraught though as the check engine light was on, but I fixed this by turning Test Match Special up a bit louder and thinking back on what a great weekend I had had as yesterday was so nice too....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.