A Good Day for Marmots

After a wild night
for weather, this morning is
calm and very bright

~carliewired

Late last evening, a thunderstorm filled our valleys bringing thunder to rattle the windows and lightning to flash through rain. My security cameras picked up some of this. Somehow, I managed to sleep better and longer. I decided I wouldn't leave the house without coffee this morning. My late start was 8:30. 

I wasn't thrilled to be out in the morning rush so I headed to McArthur Island, hoping it was something of a quiet refuge. I drove in at the east entrance just in time to see Canada geese walking single file across the road from one arm of the slough to the other. Have they forgotten how to fly? By the time I'd parked and walked back to the slough, they'd settled comfortably on the slough.

I'd parked by the Xeriscape Garden across from the recreation centre. Very young hockey players in full gear were walking across the parking lot and into the centre. Hockey school must be in session. 

I moved on to the north side of the island to catch a look across the slough to the Butterfly Garden and my mountains. Hollyhocks are looking splendid and are in great number. The daylilies are in full bloom too. 

I drove around to the south side with a brief stop by the soccer fields. The youth soccer association was beginning its season today. Parents and eager players filled one field. The human activity is what I miss when I'm out early. Frankly, I prefer the animals and having a quieter world to deal with. 

I parked by the boat launch so I could walk the Rivers Trail to check in with the marmots. They were enjoying the sunshine this morning and had already cleaned up all the handouts left for them. 

I was back home by 9:30 with a drive-thru breakfast. I have some jobs that need doing. I'm not sure how much I will achieve. 

We have a mainly sunny day with a high of 28 C expected. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.