carliewired

By carliewired

82 F/ 28 C

The morning began
with a bit of some colour 
on the horizon

~carliewired

I was on my way to McArthur Island Park at 5:15. I drove in at the east entrance just in time to see some homeless people departing with their worldly belongings in a grocery cart. 

I drove around to the north side for a look into the slough and back to my mountains. I left a quilted heart on a bench near the foot bridge, then drove on to the south side. 

I was expecting to see marmots but not one appeared for me this morning. It was the Canada geese that had control of the park. I watched as little flocks paddled their way over to the park from Rabbit Island. Wouldn't you think they'd all fly? 

Little groups of geese would land on the shore and walk up the slope to the park through the grass. They marched along the pathways and paraded through the parking lots. They seemed a force to be reckoned with so I gave them all a wide berth. 

I looked across the river to Rabbit Island where I could see a long line of gulls on the shore line. My lovely surprise was a buck that emerged from the trees, then quickly disappeared. I got my one lucky shot!

I came home with breakfast before 6:30. My cranky foot is telling me I walked too much already today. It will be a quiet day at home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.