samsticks

By samsticks

Key Players 3: Faye and Lewis

This is the third in my 'Key Players' series, which aims to blip people that travel along with me and influence who I am. You can see the first two here and here.

These are my good friends Faye and Lewis. One is an Irish lass who was brought up all over the place, the other a Kiwi surfer dude - they met here in Melbourne and are now engaged and are the proud owners of "Sarah".

When Gina and I rocked up in Melbourne, we didn't know anyone, we had no money (after 2 years of travelling), we'd never been here before and we had no idea what the future held for us. Faye and Lewis immediately got involved (after Gina met Faye at work), welcomed us in, showed us around and got us out of the city and camping around Victoria. They are amazingly positive people and it can't help be become infectious.

They came over to ours for dinner tonight (they brought the main - thai chicken salad -yum!) and I rustled up a quick chocolate tart. That's just how we work with them, and everything's always laid back and easy.

Knowing that they were coming over, I was really keen to get a portrait of them both. They were good sports and patiently played around whilst I snapped away. I got a few good ones, but I really liked the playfulness in this one, which I thought captured them quite well as they played up to the camera (and Faye, in particular, is usually very camera shy).

I struggled a bit with ISO noise in all of these shots, which is a real shame (maybe one day I'll make some money from my photos and I'll be able to upgrade), but I think that the feeling of this shot still comes through.

Hope all's well in Blipland. Happy weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.