Empty Ladybird Pupa

Last week I spotted loads of these strange objects stuck to the leaves of our redcurrant bushes….

I did not know what they were….until someone blipped something very similar over the weekend. Further investigation leads me to believe that this a pupa case for a Harlequin Ladybird - I stand to be corrected if anyone knows better!

We certainly have plenty of Harlequin larvae and adults - so it is not a huge leap to assume that this is from the same species.

I think I have caught up with blip journals - apart from that, I have not done an awful lot, although I did spend an hour or so trying to create a focus stack of this pupa, but failed miserably to achieve a good spread of focused shots across the whole thing (I need more practice)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.