An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Summer rain…

A slow start this morning after not the best of sleeps. Not sure why I only slept for about three hours other than my brain was too active.

I received a message last week from an artist friend Rochelle, who I made friends with on Instagram during lockdown. Last year she invited me to Fortingall Art Exhibition where she was exhibiting some of her work. She was getting in touch to invite me again.

We set off after lunch and while last year’s visit was in scorching sunshine, today rain was the main feature of the day.

The heavens opened just as we got parked (luckily right outside the venue) This always seems to happen to me. I swear there’s some game going on up there called “Drenching Damonii” with celestial brownie points being awarded to whoever times their downpour to me getting out of the car!

Once safely inside the hall, it was lovely to see and chat to Rochelle before making our way round the exhibition. It included all forms of art work with hugely varying styles, including ceramics. One piece I saw that immediately caught my eye was a ceramic whale with cow parsley (painted white) coming out of its blowhole to represent water. Sadly it was sold David was relieved :-) but we did buy a small dish from the same ceramicist that is plain on the outside but has the most exquisite inside. I’ll blip it at some point if I can do it justice.

If you’re near Fortingall or able to get to it, I highly recommend it. A lovely day out to a beautiful part of the country.

Returned home just in time for round two of Drenching Damnonii The rain was so heavy, literally thundering down (it caused havoc at the Senior Open at Gleneagles, which had to be stopped because if it!) we had to wait in the car till it eased off!

My after dinner plans (phone call to stepdad John, blip, crochet, tv) all went out the window as I fell asleep till 11pm!

And here I am now wide awake at 2.15am *rolls eyes*

PS The view is from a window at Fortingall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.