An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

You scratch my back....

Monday again.  I don't know where the weeks are going! 

It was Norma's birthday yesterday and she and stepdad John spent the night at a hotel a little further north in Perthshire, then met us for lunch at a local restaurant.  

It's ages since we've seen them so it was lovely to spend the afternoon with them, although for the first time, I felt they were both showing their ages a bit.  John is waiting for a knee replacement so had a walking stick.  It's clear to see the pain is affecting him, although he was his usual hilarious self.  Norma was also on good form but she is getting very forgetful.  Her short term memory isn't great and after a consultation at the Memory Clinic there are concerns she may be in the early stages of dementia but nothing has been confirmed as yet.  They are such an active couple, it's easy to forget they are in their 80s.  

While we were there I felt a tap on my shoulder and it was fellow blipper Scotguide who lives locally and who I haven’t seen since just before the first lockdown. Great to see her looking well and busy as ever :-)

We had a lovely lunch then they headed off and D asked if I wanted to go home via the Clean Estate as he'd noticed the Highland Cows we in their field when he took Lola a walk there this morning.  He didn't have to ask me twice.  They were quite far back from the road so couldn't get the shots I wanted but it was lovely to see them :-)

Home to spend the afternoon in the studio getting some paintings mounted and starting a watercolour.  I wish I could settle on a painting style.  This one is a vase of flowers and is quite detailed.  My desire is to paint loosely but then I start and I am drawn to detail.  The background will be loose and free so maybe that's what I have to accept my painting will be.  Still exploring and learning, and accepting that I may never have a "style" and each painting may reflect the mood I was in when I painted it.  Time will tell :-)

Alan was in good form today again and was out and about then back for a swim, so his energy levels are back to normal I would say.  Very relieved.

Saturday
Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.