Flossmo

By Flossmo

Good decision

This morning I decided to take a walk on the nearby Horseshoe Pass. There are a couple of possible walking routes but last time I was here I walked up Moel Y Faen so today I decided I would walk up Cyrn Y Brain, a decent sized hill with a transmitter mast on top. 

I laughed out loud in the car as I drove to the HSP: there was a sign on the side of the road which said 'For Sale Four Birth Caravan'. The mind boggles.

Anyway, I reached the parking area, opposite the Ponderosa Cafe, parked my car and walked towards the Cyrn Y Brain footpath. Then I remembered I had my walking poles in the car so went back to fetch them. As I closed my boot lid I looked across at the sky and an element of doubt crept into my mind - were those rain clouds blowing in?

In the interests of keeping dry I made a snap decision to tackle Moel Y Faen instead of Cyrn Y Brain - the two hills are on opposite side of the HSP. And what a good decision it turned out to be. The extra photograph shows the sequence of events as the cloud rolled in over Cyrn Y Brain. First the cloud touched the top of the hill, then the mast was obscured, then the cloud dropped lower until finally it was almost down to the level of the cafe. The hill I had chosen remained free of cloud the whole time. Apart from getting wet, I think it would have been disorientating to be engulfed by all that cloud.  

From the top of Moel Y Faen there were some wonderful views to the south and west if not the north and east, although it was quite windy up there.

I was glad of a cup of tea at the Pondarosa and given that it's very much a biker's cafe less embarrassed by my bedraggled appearance after my walk.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.