Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A trip up the coast

Both the Intermediates and the Long Walkers headed for the north east coast today. We chose a good day for weather.

I was with the Intermediates, walking from Howick Hall along the coastal path the Craster, then a return south on an inland route.

I was late. I left later than I planned, sat for ages behind a lorry of logs, then later behind a motorway service vehicle that could hardly make it up the hills. My route was cross country so there was rarely a chance to overtake.

I was nearly on time, but made a mistake in Long Houghton. There was no phone signal at Howick Hall, so my calls to the group were all unanswered. They waited for me, thank goodness.

Those who walked, took the route through the gardens and out onto the beach. We had coffee there, then lunch in Craster, sitting on the harbour walls.

It was a relief to see healthy seabirds (see extra) after the devastation caused recently by avian 'flu.

There was time to explore the gardens at Howick Hall on our return. They are lovely, so do go if you are near. Information about the 2nd Early Grey is given here. (I had English Breakfast in the tea rooms.)

Most of us went to Amble for a meal in The Boathouse, a fish restaurant with excellent food.

Arth did well, but I'm very tired tonight. It was a long drive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.