Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

By Haltwhistle Burn

This morning I made a crumble using fresh cherries I bought yesterday. I spotted a tray of cherries in the reduced section. They were down from £5 to £3 so I was tempted.

However hard I tried, I could not eat them all before they "went over". I used Nigel Slater's recipe with ground almonds in the crumble.

This afternoon, I headed to Haltwhistle to see Brian and Maureen. It's weeks since we met up and phone calls are just not the same.

They are doing OK but both feel very tired. We discussed their plan to move the main bedroom downstairs. It means parting with dining room furniture and probably with a number of items that have strong sentimental value. So hard.

I also tried to fixe their cordless phones, but the one I needed to work on had disappeared. It will no doubt emerge before my next visit.

I wanted to check on Arth after yesterday's pain, so we went on the path beside the Haltwhistle Burn. This is always lovely, whatever the time of year. As usual I met very few people, a couple of dog walkers and three people who were out walking.

I love this mass of ferns as I looked up and through them.

My extra is Enchanter's Nightshade. I used to often mistake this for Dog's Mercury but I have them sussed now.

Tonight, Mum and I demolished one of the crumbles. I made custard. It was delicious.

If you look at the data you will see that I had the "wrong" lens with me, a 70 - 300mm. I like experimenting and it did quite well to show some detail in the flowers, despite the low light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.