Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In eager anticipation

I was at the first concert of this year's Corbridge Chamber Music Festival tonight. No photographs may be taken during the concert, so I had to satisfy myself with this picture, just before the musicians came onto the stage.

The opening piece was Schubert's Arppegione Sonata arranged for clarinet and string quartet by Brian Newbould. (He was in the audience.) I have heard this piece played on viola and piano and by 'cello and piano. It's lovely and I really liked tonight's version.

Then the Elias String Quartet kept us well entertained with Haydn's String Quartet Op 54 No 1 in G major. I have not heard them play before and they are amazing. The music was translucent and transporting.

After the interval the Gould Piano Trio played Dvoƙák's Piano Trio, Dumky. This is muscular music with strong folk type themes. Brilliant.

The audience is so absorbed at these concerts that there is no coughing or shuffling between movements. The silence is electric.

More tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.