Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

I had a mission today on my ride.  I've been curious about a local lake but there isn't much information online.  We're invited to a party there in September.  Today I rode to it to find out in person.  What I found was a locked gate with a sign that said Private Lake.  I guess I'll have to wait.

I rode on the wide shoulder of a busy highway to get to the lake because it was the fastest way to get there.  It's very safe but the traffic noise and fumes were not pleasant.  After finding the locked gate, I rode up into the foothills and had a much nicer ride home.  

Top Row:         Mr. Frog catching some rays
                          Black-tailed Prairie Dog
                          Ford Model A (1927-1931)

Middle:             Derelict Barn
                          Funny sign of the day
                          Beautiful mural on the side of someone's barn.  The mountains are Boulder's front range, including the Flatirons.

Bottom:            Dodge Flatbed Truck, circa 1940
                          Jersey calf
                          Six foot rooster in someone's yard

I rode 34 miles in hazy sunshine, about 80F.  It was damp from the lingering storms but I'm sure not as bad as the humidity in some parts of the country.  I am grateful that I made it home before the rain this afternoon!

Thanks to everyone for the stars and hearts on my blips!  I'll catch up with all of you tomorrow.  It's bedtime now. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.