In Memoriam

There must be worse places to die than nestled in the leaves of a viola on the Dower House Patio. At first I thought the bee was resting, exhausted after it’s pollen gathering but when it didn’t move after 5 minutes, I gave it the last rites and then blipped it, thereby committing it to the Cloud for ever and ever, amen.

I had occasion to walk down the High Street this morning to collect new specs.
It felt a bit like picking my way through several rugby scrums as crowds of tourists huddled round tour guides each speaking a foreign language. Returning via the main road I walked at the pace of the slowest case puller which you might say suited the ankle even though my brain prefers something quicker.
George Square is now almost completely ravaged. Adorned with hoardings, fairy lights, booths , scaffolding and the gardens covered in marquees and performance tents- a total transformation from the usual serene, academic enclave it is meant to be - there is no contest between this City council and Mammon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.