Rough and Tumble

I bit the bullet and washed my hair today, leaning over the bath and filling a jug with water from the bath-taps. It is hard, messy work and did not achieve the best results either. I had a quick, shallow bath while the conditioner worked then more kneeling  - in the bath this time - and messing about with the jug and the water. 

We can't just get a new shower as the bathroom needs a lot of work done, and it would make sense to get it all done at once. I'm geeing Brian up to gee the plumber up and I just hope things go smoothly from here on.... Brian is not as affected by having no working shower as he has no hair to speak of and Zeph has access to a shower where he works. I'm the only one who is really struggling!

This afternoon we went over to see Jeri and family. Zeph was free to come along too and Grace and Sophia met us there. We had a lovely roast dinner prepared mostly by Paul, and we watched the Women's Euro final. It was closely contested and of course went to extra time. I'm glad England managed to score in the second half of that and it did not go to penalties!

It is an amazing milestone for English football in general, and the women's game in particular. I was seen as weird at school just because I enjoyed watching football, cricket and rugby and there was no chance I could play. (Not that I would have been any good, possessing no athletic ability whatsoever!) But I wanted to be a sports writer and was told by my head mistress that that would not be possible in any circumstances. How far things have come, but there is more new ground for women in sport to still break.

Grandson Horatio is not a football fan and went to play a game in his room. Theo was happy to watch the match but Mal, though he loves to play, does not enjoy watching except live. He kept messing about! He forced Sophia to demonstrate her considerable Rubiks Cube skills repeatedly and tried to start fights with his brother and with Paul. Both obliged after the game finished! 

This shot shows Paul and Mal having a rough and tumble, after which Paul tagged in Theodore! I've included an extra of Zeph as I manage to get so few shots of him. It's back-lit and not great but as I say, a rarity!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.