All Before 6

Another day of
heat to be managed, and one
more day of ice cream!

~carliewired

I was up ridiculously early (2:30) so I could open windows and doors for  more cooling. Once on my feet, going back to sleep was impossible. I waited until 4 to brew a pot of coffee. I had a chat with a friend in Scotland online while I waited to see the light come up. At 5:30 I was on my way down the hill and across the bridge. 

That haze from wildfires is still in the air. It gave some colour to the sky this morning. 

I drove to the end of Mission Flats Road. Enroute I found a doe and her fawn browsing by the roadside. I startled them and they bounded over the railway tracks and up the slope into the sagebrush. They paused there where I could get a good look at them. The fawn still had spots. I soon realized that there were two fawns. One seemed to be obedient. It stayed close to mama. The other was the naughty one. It wandered away so mama had to bring it in line. 

I drove on to find eagles roosting near the road with their eyes on the river below them. One flew off before I could get a shot. The other sat patiently waiting. I am always so thankful when wildlife will pose for me. I wouldn't have a hope otherwise! 

I got the long look out to Kamloops Lake across the Thompson River. I caught the sun just making it over the horizon in two places. I can never really calculate when sunrise is. It will depend where you're standing and what mountain/hill is in your way. 

I was on my way home with some breakfast for the 6:30 news. I'm hoping I can convince my daughter that we can go for brunch. Otherwise, I'm hiding from the heat again today. 

Temperatures are beginning to cool down a bit. Our high today is expected to be 34 C with a chance of showers and a thunderstorm this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.