Sunrise on McArthur Island

A storm blew up just
after dark. My trees thrashed and
quaked but now are calm

~carliewired

I was brewing my coffee just after 4 AM. I sat in my recliner until 5:30 when I took my first photo on my deck. There's just enough smoke in the air to colour the sky, but not enough to notice the smell of it. Several fires are close to us now, but the wind has directed the smoke away from us for the most part. 

I was in McArthur Island Park just before 6. I came upon the location on the Rivers Trail where a man went into the river and has not been found yet. A marmot was standing at attention there by the police tape. He looked like he was wearing an orange vest as the first sunshine hit him. 

I spoked to a lady along the trail this morning who feeds the marmots with branches she pulls from the trees. She didn't know what kind of tree it was, but I think it must be willow. The marmots seemed most appreciative and the leaves disappeared very quickly. 

I looked across the Thompson River to Rabbit Island. There was that orangey glow again. 

I moved my car over to the east side of the island and walked down onto the dock by the boat launch. I watched a pair of busy beavers. They are difficult to track as they can move like torpedos. I had no idea they could swim so fast. I caught one with his head out of the water. The Canada geese were positioned out of range for me. They were hunkered down in the reeds near the river.

I walked back to the Xeriscape Garden and took some shots of the flowers now in bloom. Then I was off for home. 

I have some errands to run this morning. I appreciate how much cooler it is. The heat warning has been lifted. 

My daughter will be off on the highway today heading north. She is going to be helping some friends for a week. I will miss her company. 

We have a mainly sunny day with a high of 31C. We will have cooler temperatures for the week with heat returning by the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.