Marmots and Roses

A quick turn around
the downtown park this morning -
all before breakfast!

~carliewired

I was rattling around the kitchen in the dark this morning making my pot of coffee. I mistakenly added milk, not cream, to my big mug. Ugh! That's no way to start the day. 

It's cooler, thankfully. The wind is gusty and the sky started out grey. I was off across the bridge by 6:30. I had hoped to see improvements in Riverside Park but I was very disappointed. The renovations they are stalled on have moved no further along. The best parts of this park are still behind construction fences. I despair!

I parked near the tennis courts to walk up the ramp towards the bridge. I found the highrise marmots out grazing. One stands the lookout on the second level. They were very quiet and slow-moving this morning. 

I stopped halfway up the ramp to get a view of my mountains and the confluence. Vegetation is drying out fast. Anything not receiving irrigation is already brown around the edges. I looked down into the river to see the survivor tree continues to emerge from the channel. 

I walked back down and moved over to have a quick walk through the rose garden. In spite of the heat wave we've just had, the roses are looking good. 

I was home just after 7:30 with some breakfast in hand. I was surprised at how many routes in the downtown are closed for construction. I zig zagged my way back. 

My daughter is on her way north today. I will very much miss her company. She's taking my little red bomber to save on fuel costs. I will have her car while she's gone. 

We can expect a mainly cloudy day with a high of 25 C. I'm grateful for the cooler weather but heat should return by the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.