carliewired

By carliewired

88 F/ 31 C

Overnight the smoke
has drifted away - but it
may arrive quickly

~carliewired

At 5:30 I was on my way to Riverside Park in the downtown. I've been avoiding it since the start of the Buskers Festival last weekend. This morning it was beautifully calm and quiet. I got a panorama of the foreshore from the pier to the railway bridge. 

There was still one street light on near the pier. It was tucked up inside a catalpa tree so the sensor hadn't tripped it off yet. 

Two security guards were patrolling the park on foot. Their bright safety vests really stand out. 

I missed the heron tiptoeing through the playground and the squirrels dancing among the trees. They are just too fast for me. 

I picked up some breakfast before heading for home. 

At the top of the cul de sac, my neighbourhood chukar flock was scouring through a front yard. I disturbed them as I came to the stop sign. They filed into the backyard and out of my sight. The young ones are getting their adult colours and are almost as big as the parents. 

I'll be out again this morning for some errands, but my day will largely be with my feet up. 

***In national news, our Prime Minister and his wife have announced that they are separating after 18 years of marriage. They share 3 children, ages 9 to 15. She has moved into her own house in Ottawa. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.