carliewired

By carliewired

93 F/ 34 C

There's just a trace of
smoke to remind us that it
isn't over yet!

~carliewired

I was late out of the starting gate this morning when I left the house at 8.
It felt odd to be in full sun for a change. Thankfully, traffic was light as I headed to McArthur Island Park. 

I turned in at the east entrance and drove around the north side past the Butterfly Garden. I suddenly found myself surrounded by a small group of geriatric cyclists. This must be their turf and I must be in their time slot. They swirled around me on all sides, then veered off to cross the foot bridge. 

I continued on the the south side looking for marmots. They've been very difficult to find lately. 

I parked beside the soccer fields and rolled down my car window. I waited just a few minutes to spot some marmots munching their way along the Rivers Trail. The colony seems to have moved west along the river bank to this southwest corner. I managed to catch them in different poses. I found one devouring a dandelion plant. 

I got a shot of my mountains across the playing fields, then drove along to the Xeriscape Garden on the east side. I took a view of the south end of that garden beside the Rivers Trail. The summer colours are vibrant. 

We're at the start of a long weekend. Monday is British Columbia  Day. Many special events will be on offer as we celebrate the contributions that have shaped our province. 

I'm in with my sore feet up. Such will be my weekend, too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.