Tranquille

Another cool day
not to complain about as
heat is coming back

~ carliewired

Overnight our temperature dropped to 14 C. I'd shut off the A/C yesterday and left the windows and doors open. At 3 AM I woke up frozen. I tried to pull on my blankets but that didn't do anything to put me back to sleep. So, I was up making coffee before 5. At 6 I was off to Tranquille so I could get my blip before the grocery store opened at 7.

The weather is better than forecast. We had some rain overnight but there was some sun this morning. I drove out to Tranquille keeping an eye out for some Big Horn Sheep. I was delighted to find a dozen bad boys in a field that had been recently hayed. These males of varying ages had come off the hillside, then crossed the railway tracks and the road to get into the fresh grass. 

I drove on to the lookout over the wetlands. Tranquille Farms always looks lovely reflected in the pond. There was very little bird life around and it was a quiet place. 

I drove to the end of the road by Tranquille Farms and turned around. I just missed the osprey on the nest. It flew off before I could get parked and grab my camera. I could see lots of ducks in the waterways. The water level continues to drop but there must still be food for waterfowl. 
My last shot was of my mountains to the east. It does look a little hazy this morning. 

I was at the grocery store at 7, picked up some breakfast and was home again by 8. I will putter in the house today. 

We have a high of 18 expected today with some showers and possibly a thunderstorm late this morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.