ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I haven’t participated in many of the challenges lately, but thought that I would take part in the Abstract Thursday challenge.  

I wandered around the garden and found this beautiful dahlia, which Mr. HCB has grown from a tuber - we have never grown them before, so we are pleased that in spite of the very dry weather, this one has flowered.  He also has some other dahlias growing in a pot that he grew from seed, so he is well chuffed with them.  I used my MobileMonet app and rather liked the effect and then used the Carbon app to put a frame around the photograph. 

However, he is not so happy now because he has just come in and bemoaned the fact that despite covering his cabbages with special mesh grow tunnels, they have been, in his words, “eaten to death” so none of them are worth keeping.  He has been thinking that next year he will cut down on the amount of work that needs doing in the garden, so I guess there won’t be any more cabbages!  We both know we need butterflies, but do they have to lay their eggs on OUR cabbages?

I was out shopping again very early this morning as we have our grandson and his girlfriend coming this afternoon and I thought it would be good to have a meal with them.  It’s pizzas again, but that’s what they like, so with garlic bread and salad, tomatoes and cucumber from the garden, it should be enjoyable.  A bit like buses, you don’t see one for ages, then two come along at once, but we probably won’t have pizzas again for another 3 years! 

When I got back, Mr. HCB was doing some weeding, so I decided to tackle the patio, especially as we will be sitting out there this afternoon, and I must admit it looks good now.  One thing led to another and we spent another hour out there weeding and sorting out lots of stuff to go in our green bin, and then it was collected by the Council, so we were happy bunnies to get that done.

I must do my Wordle before they come because I was so busy on Monday, I completely forgot to do it!  

I do apologise for not commenting yesterday - especially after all your kind comments, stars and hearts, but I had a Worship Group practice in the evening and was quite tired by the time I got home.  I will try and do better today!

Thankfully, there is a slight breeze blowing, so we should be fine under the umbrellas in the garden this afternoon.

“What is a weed?  
     a plant whose virtues
          have never been discovered.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.