Fun Day!

Not for me, but for these families with young children. They are part of one of Lincoln's largest churches I believe. It's a good day for it - warm and sunny, but not too hot. There were sports, bouncy castles, face-painting, crafts etc.

I had to wash my hair today again. Normally I do this every three days - any more or less than that and it becomes unmanageable - less and it is frizzy and wild, more and it is flyaway and wild. It has been washed less since the demise of the shower, just because it is such a massive undertaking. I've discovered that it is a bit easier over the sink than over the bath, but because it is a very small sink (necessary in a very small bathroom!) lots of water ends up on the floor. At least the floor gets a wash I suppose!

I received a call from the care home today. My Mum's dementia is becoming more severe and once again she is becoming aggressive and violent with staff. Her mobility is reduced partly because she does not wish to cooperate with the staff, and she is also not eating and drinking properly. Because she does not want to cooperate, efforts to encourage her frequently have the opposite effect. 

There will be a meeting, which they want me to attend, later in the month aimed at assessing her for upgrading her care to nurse supervision rather than the normal care staff as management of her condition is literally becoming above their pay-grade. This particular home was chosen for her because they had this facility in house, so that when that time came it would not be necessary to move her elsewhere. 

I am at work tonight and tomorrow but I have Saturday off. I know it will make tomorrow tougher but I think I am going to see if my Dad is up for me to visit then rather than Saturday so I can have a proper free day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.